

LA JOLLA COMMUNITY PLANNING ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 889 La Jolla CA 92038 * 858.456.7900 * http://www.LAJOLLACPA.org Info@lajollaCPA.org

Location: La Jolla Recreation Center * 615 Prospect Street * 1st Thursday of the Month

Meeting Begins: 6:30 P.M. **MEETING MINUTES**

06 July 2006

Trustee Attendance: Excused Absentees:

Abrams McConkey Berke Andrews McGee Peto

Beacham Merten
Golba Metcalf
Hayes Morton
LaCava Perricone
Lyon Thiele
Marcum White

Cleaveland (Ex Oficio)

1. WELCOME AND CALL TO ORDER:

Tim Golba / President.

2. AGENDA MODIFICATIONS:

Tim Golba:

Hearing none. They stand approved.

3. JUNE 1, 2006 MINUTES:

Motion: Merten, LaCava. To approve June 1, 2006 meeting minutes.

Vote: 13-0-0 Minutes stand approved.

Motion: Beacham, Cleaveland. Amend April 6, 2006 minutes to record a motion was made by Lyon to hear

the No Three Stories and it was seconded by Beacham. No vote was taken.

Vote: 9-0-5 The April minutes stand approved.

4. PRESIDENTS REPORT

Tim Golba:

- A. C.P.C. elected Steve Lamb for President.
- B. C.P.A. Bylaws Update.

Announced Public Meeting held at La Jolla Library. Check the website for Agenda and meeting times.

C. Airport Update. The C.P.A. can vote if they choose. President requested a vote to hear the presentation and to take a position.

Discussion:

Vote: 15-1-0 Motion approved. The President will schedule a date for presentation.

D. Torrey Pines Road Enhancement Update:

Robert Thiele presented the project.

The C.P.A. asked the Committee to reconvene on September 18th & 25th.

For information contact Robert Thiele (rthiele@cox.net).

E. Water Pipeline Update:

Mr. George Freiha, Project Manager made a presentation.

The final section is now complete.

Will begin the upgrade in La Jolla Shores.

Schedule to be announced.

PUBLIC COMMENT:

Ms. Sheila Harden: Public Relations for the C.C.D.C.

Made presentation and distributed brochure.

For information contact C.C.D.C.

La Jolla Park & Recreation: Ms. Mary Coakley.

Meetings are on the 4th Wednesday of each month at 5:00 p.m.

Compact: Mr. Dan Allen.

Compact is studying the issue of a Regional Airport with high speed Train.

The issue is proposed for the November ballot.

B.R.C.C.: Mr. Joe LaCava.

Taste of Birdrock will be July 13th, 2006.

A hearing and meetings are planned for a form based coding.

First meeting July 11th, 2006.

U.C.S.D.: Ann Delouri.

No report.

Public Comment. Non Agenda Items:

Pearson:

Presented affidavits to establish her attendance for March.

Golba:

Working to include the minutes on the website this month.

Lightner:

Presented Update on the Hillel lawsuit.

Soliciting donations for support.

For information contact Ms. Lightner.

Coakley:

Presented Update on the Kellogg Park Map Project. Thanked the Doners.

Motion: Beacham, Merten. To accept Ms. Pearson's affidavits for attendance in March 2006.

Vote: 14-0-1 Motion approved.

Motion: Beacham, McConkey. To request the La Jolla Light & La Jolla Village News publish the agenda.

Vote: 15-0-1 Motion approved.

Merten:

Announced workshop on General Plan Wednesday July 19th @ 2:00 p.m.

6. CHANELLE BERRY:

Will be gone between July 14th to July 31st.

Commendation to Officer Johnston.

A medical marijuana facility was closed down.

Fire Station #13 had an open house to raise donations. (<u>www.fs.13nrotary.com</u>).

Meeting to discuss issues relating to Wind n' Sea. (cbarry@sandiego.gov).

7. MATT AUBRY:

No report.

5.

8. SARA OSBORN:

No report.

9. TREASURER'S REPORT:

Hayes:

Last month we collected: \$112.30

No expenditures.

10. TASTE OF THE COVE.

Mr. Pierre Charmasson. Presented the event, September 7th, 2006.

Funded by the San Diego Sports Foundation Charity.

Open to the Public.

Motion: Marcum, Hayes: To endorse the Taste of the Cove, date and time.

Discussion:

Merten:

Requested an amendment to the motion.

The Parks & Recreation Committee review the permit prior.

Amendment accepted by maker and second.

Vote: 16-0-0 Motion approved.

11. COMMITTEE REPORTS.

A. COASTAL DEVELOPMENT PERMIT COMMITTEE: Merten made the presentation.

Golba: Requested the Douglas Residence be voted on separately and requested to be recused from the vote.

Merten: Requested to be recused from the Styles Residence and Maisel Cabana vote.

Discussion:

Motion: Metcalf, Beacham. Requested the Fuentes Residence be pulled.

Golba: The Fuentes Residence will be heard at the August C.P.A. meeting.

Motion: McGee, Hayes: To approve the following projects on consent.

550 Gravilla Map Waiver.

644 Arenas Map Waiver.

Vote: 15-0-1, Consent approved.

Motion: McGee, Hayes. To send the Dinofia Residence back to the City for review on the legality of the lot.

Vote: 15-0-1 Motion approved.

Motion: McGee, Hayes. To approve the Styles Residence and Maisel Cabana.

Vote: 15-0-1 The project is approved. Merten recusing.

Motion: McGee, Hayes. To approve the Douglas Residence.

Vote: 15-0-1 The Project is approved. Golba and Morton recusing.

Merten: Announced the next C.D.P. meeting would include the Birdrock mixed use project.

B. PLANNED DISTRICT ORDINANCE. Lightner made the presentation.

La Jolla Chevron change of use.

Motion: Marcum, McConkey. To approve the project.

Vote: 15-0-1 Project approved.

C. LA JOLLA SHORES. Crisafi made the presentation.

7902 Roseland Drive Vacation.

Motion: LaCava, Cleveland: To pull 7902 Roseland Drive Vacation from consent.

Golba: 7902 Roseland Drive Vacation will be heard at the August C.P.A. meeting.

Crisafi:

The Kafaji will be heard next month.

Mr. Tony Espinoza has been elected new chairman of the committee.

D. TRAFFIC & TRANSPORTATION. LaCava made the presentation.

Torrey Pines / La Jolla Village restriping.

Via Capri Traffic Calming.

Mooddoggie's Run.

Oversized Vehicle Ordinance.

Motion: Beacham, Perricone. To approve the Consent agenda.

Vote: 16-0-0. Motion approved.

12. 2220 CALLE FRESCOTA MAP WAIVER.

Golba:

The applicant is not in attendance. The project will be forwarded to the August agenda.

13. COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS.

Golba:

Appointments will be posted on the website.

Parking & Advisory Board: One representative.

Yvette Marcum is the representative. Marty McGee is the alternate.

Traffic & Transportation: One representative.

Mary Coakley is the representative.

Planned District Ordinance: Three representatives.

Chuck Berke is a representative and Chairman.

C.A. Marengo & Hal White are representatives.

Joe LaCava is the alternate.

Coastal Development Permit: Five representatives.

Phil Merten is a representative and Chairman.

Lynn Hayes, Louis Beacham, Paul Metcalf & C.A. Marengo are representatives.

Marty Vusich is an alternate.

Merten:

The La Jolla Town Council appointments are:

Joanne Pearson, Robert Collins, Sheri Lightner, J.R. Sullivan & David Little.

Golba:

La Jolla Permit Review Committee: One representative.

Mark Lyon is the representative.

C.A. Marengo is the alternate.

Community Planning Commission: One representative.

Tim Golba is the representative.

Yvette Marcum is the alternate.

Compact: One representative.

Gail Forbes is the representative.

Bylaw Committee: Five members.

Lance Peto is Chairmen.

Marty McGee, Mark Lyon, Gail Forbes & Phil McConkey.

Parliamentarian: Chuck Berke.

Grievance Committee: Three appointments.

Simon Andrews, Robert Thiele & Luis Beacham.

Motion: McGee, Abrams. To approve the Committee Appointments.

Vote: 16-0-0.

Motion: Thiele, Andrews. To adjourn the meeting.

Vote: 16-0-0 Meeting adjourned.

Next meeting the first Thursday of August 3rd, 2006!!